The CEO Gets Her Man

The CEO Gets Her ManThe CEO Gets Her Man

 

Here are some reviews of “The CEO Gets Her Man”

on December 2, 2015
Debra, the CEO of a family business, went to a hotel that her mom was worried about. She went undercover as a waitress, a job which she knew nothing about. Debra had her mother watching the hotel when she went on a trip with Jase, an ex-rugby star, she used to have a crush on. While on the trip, they encountered a bad car accident. Trying to help, they got blood all over their clothes and they had to spend the night away, together. They both have feeling for each other, but Debra was fighting it. Jase tries to win her heart and Debra tries to get to the bottom of the hotel mystery. I likes the characters and the plot was well thought out. I liked that she was the powerful one and he was ordinary, which it seems like a lot of romances usually do, making the man more important who the average woman wins over.

 

 

5.0 out of 5 stars What a story…what a set up January 10, 2013

By Shirley Wine

For anybody who’s ever watched the TV Series Undercover Boss you’ll love this book. CEO Debra Laurie goes under cover as a waitress to discover why the Invercargill hotel in their chain is not performing and what she discovers is herself. Thrown into contact with Jase McEwen, the hotel manager, an ex-rugby player she’s hero worshipped from afar does not sit well with Debra….as the warmth of the Southlanders begin to break down the barriers she’s spent a life-time erecting, Debra discovers all is not well in their Southern-most hotel. Is Jase the person who is stealing from her hotel…big time. If so, how can she keep her distance from the charismatic man?
As she becomes closer to Jase she’s aware that when her deception is revealed it will tick him off big-time.
This is an engrossing story with great characters and character development. Ms Ashby is to be commended for an enjoyable and gripping read…I couldn’t put it down…there was tension on every page…WELL DONE.

****

5.0 out of 5 stars Undercover Boss February 19, 2013

By Sheiglagh

Taking a cue from the hit CBS reality series ‘Undercover Boss’, THE CEO GETS HER MAN puts a romantic twist that is endearingly familiar but also an original.

Needing to find out the real reason why one of their luxury hotels was losing money, part owner and CEO Debra Laurie had to masquerade as a waitress to find the culprit. She solved the mystery alright, but she also found something she did not expect – her heart.

After being injured, Rugby player Jase McEwan had to quit professional sports and became Operations Manager in Riversleigh, a luxury resort hotel. The new waitress Debbie caught his eyes, but ethics prevented him to make a move.

Also, Riversleigh was in chaos and the Head Office just wouldn’t listen. If he could only talk to the CEO Debra Laurie, then perhaps there is still hope for the hotel to survive.

You will love Debra and Jase. The chemistry between them just burn through the pages. This is also a fantasy come true – your favorite sports hero seeing you than just a fan. A great read.

This book is rated PG 13. There are no sex scenes in this book.

****

5.0 out of 5 stars ceo gets her man February 13, 2013

By hen pen

I love all of Anne Ashby’s books but this one is my favourite. Having worked in hotels in the past Anne has captured the essence of hotel life with it’s trials and tribulations. The chemistry between her lead characters is fantastic. I couldn’t put it down. Five stars all the way.

****

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story Line, April 12, 2013

By Solitaire

I found this to be an excellent read. I think it was enjoyable, had substance, someone in the “work force” could relate to it.

4.0 out of 5 stars Super fun and entertaining, April 11, 2013

By  Brenda H.

A very nice fairy tale. A workaholic CEO gets a lesson in humility at the hands of her teenage crush. Super fun and entertaining.

****

4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, March 21, 2013

By Andrea

This was a good story. I like strong smart women who are a little vulnerable. I like a strong male character who has realistic emotions and reactions to what is happening in the story. I don’t want to give spoilers but I didn’t how she approached him for one of her turning point moments and then was angry at him for following along. But it came together in the end and so I was satisfied.

****

5.0 out of 5 stars The CEO gets her man, March 17, 2013

By Gloria Holguin

The book was great loved the storyline and the characters wished the book would have delved into the ex-fiancé a little more. Overall he book was great

****

5.0 out of 5 stars good book, March 16, 2013

By Smart Shopper (Tennessee)

I liked the book enough and the writing was done really well. I would definitely read the authors books in the future

****

5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, March 15, 2013

By Roanra

I loved this book. I had a difficult time putting it down. Loved the setting in New Zealand. I will certainly read more books by Anne Ashby.

****

4.0 out of 5 stars Corny but nice, March 12, 2013

By SUE

I enjoyed reading this corny romance, I am a romantic at heart and I love a good love story with a happy ending. Would love to read more from this author.

****

4.0 out of 5 stars Strong Characters, Intriguing Secret, March 8, 2013

By Morgan Mandel “Appreciates Well Written Books... (Illinois)

I love reading about women in high level positions. I also love secrets in romances. This book has both.
The heroine is a strong character who has no problem wielding power. When necessity demands it, she’s also wise enough to hide her true identity and take on a menial role. The hero is an excellent match for her, both in determination and conscientiousness.
As their attraction mounts, the heroine’s secret adds great tension to the plot. Once the secret is revealed, will the hero be man enough to adjust to their true roles?
The CEO Gets Her Man is an absorbing contemporary romance, which I highly recommend.

****

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story, March 6, 2013

By Jakitra

I really enjoyed the story was surprised pleasantly so…Will highly recommend this story was a nice amount of pages too

****

4.0 out of 5 stars Good reading, March 4, 2013

By Unknown

This book is a easy reading book and I really enjoyed all of the characters and places involved. Good to the end

****

5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, February 28, 2013

By Ksnyder

Got this book when it was free, didn’t really know if I was going to like it or not but gave it a shot & really did. The characters are good. The story line is good everything flowed together. Casual read. Something to read on the airplane or vacation.

****

4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, February 28, 2013

By Sandra

Well written. Great description. In my opinion, the writer spent a great deal of time, telling some of the story and not enough time with the happily ever after part.

****

5.0 out of 5 stars The CEO Gets Her Man, February 26, 2013

By Jane Jones (NC)

Set in Southland section of New Zealand, The CEO Gets Her Man had an interesting story line. Debra has character flaw that make her hard to understand. She has turned her life into all work and no play for so long she has difficulty letting go enough to enjoy social situations with the people around her.
Jase is a dreamboat character in both looks and how his personality develops in the story. First are his honesty and then his ability to draw the best out of the people around him by showing interest in them as individuals. He realizes that Debbie has been hurt and is hiding behind her work persona to keep from being hurt again. To the rest of the world she appears the driven, super boss that demands as the CEO she be taken seriously even if she is cold and unapproachable. Jase found the warm woman that he met as Debbie the undercover waitress and realized just how special she was to him.

The CEO Gets Her Man had an interesting story line with an element of dishonesty on several levels. First were the funds missing from the hotel and Debra’s mother goes for a visit to the hotel. Mom talks her CEO daughter into becoming a waitress and keeping her identity secret. The audit was conducted behind the management’s staff’s back. Despite all the dishonesty and unanswered phone calls, Debbie and Jase manage to find each other on the dance floor for a happy ending to this dishonest twisted tale. I enjoyed the ups and downs of the romance, which kept my interest.

****

4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Read, February 22, 2013

By Samara Hine

I enjoyed this book. I liked the fact that it was an easy read, nice weekend read in the Sun. I have also read a couple of other books by Anne Ashby which is why I also wanted to read this, and I will continue to read her work. Kia Kaha
(Interesting to read the other reviews)
I am also from New Zealand so I wasn’t aware of typos or anything, it was written and set in NZ which was nice because so many books are set in the UK or US.

****

4.0 out of 5 stars Could use a better title, February 20, 2013

By misty

I almost didn’t read this book because the title just seemed a little too cheesy, but I went ahead and gave it a try. I thought it was a nice easy read without having to put that much thought into it. Some of the other reviewers we put off by some of the “typos” but I didnt find them too distracting, and I think that some slang terms may just have different spellings in other countries. I think the characters were likable even though a little inconsistent and of course with most of these types of books, the plot is a little far fetched. But there were some funny parts and overall it was enjoyable to read. It really could use a better title, because the book was more about the CEO getting over her insecurities and regaining her confidence in herself than just getting “her man”. It is easy for me to relate to someone whose confidence and professionalism on the outside in the business world hides inner fears and worries.

****

5.0 out of 5 stars Romantic Fun, February 19, 2013

By Ms Margaret aka Ms Smarty Pants “Ms Margaret” (Greensboro, NC, USA)

First off it IS a Romance. Predictable? Romances are somewhat predictable but on a scale of 1 to 10, 10 being the most predictablle I give this a 5 mostly because of rich detail, some interesting characters, I really was kinda wondering where they were going next. A richly enjoyable read.

****

5.0 out of 5 stars Undercover Boss, February 19, 2013

By Sheiglagh “Sheiglagh” (Dallas, TX)

Taking a cue from the hit CBS reality series ‘Undercover Boss’, THE CEO GETS HER MAN puts a romantic twist that is endearingly familiar but also an original.
Needing to find out the real reason why one of their luxury hotels was losing money, part owner and CEO Debra Laurie had to masquerade as a waitress to find the culprit. She solved the mystery alright, but she also found something she did not expect – her heart.
After being injured, Rugby player Jase McEwan had to quit professional sports and became Operations Manager in Riversleigh, a luxury resort hotel. The new waitress Debbie caught his eyes, but ethics prevented him to make a move.
Also, Riversleigh was in chaos and the Head Office just wouldn’t listen. If he could only talk to the CEO Debra Laurie, then perhaps there is still hope for the hotel to survive.
You will love Debra and Jase. The chemistry between them just burn through the pages. This is also a fantasy come true – your favorite sports hero seeing you than just a fan. A great read.
This book is rated PG 13. There are no sex scenes in this book.

****

5.0 out of 5 stars A story set in New Zealand, February 18, 2013

By Elaine Dunlop

Loved it, and look forward to reading more in time to come
it was great to be able to receive it as an e-book.
Recommended

****

3.0 out of 5 stars Touching love story, February 18, 2013

By PK

This is a delightful love story showcasing a powerful female who submits to love. Jase is the ideal mate for a powerful women; his sensitivity and ability to dominate when needed make him the perfect mat for Debra. At times Debra’s internal dialogue is a bit wordy and doesn’t effectively move the story forward.

****

5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, February 17, 2013

By Mischelle Rowe “Smilee:)” (New Bern, NC)
(REAL NAME)   

This was a fantastic book! I loved how Jase never gave up on Debra. Some how he believed that he could change her state of mind to love him and in fact he did. She made me mad at times, i wanted to slap her and say buck up Debra! This was a gorgous man who was a true to heart person wanting this vague unaproachable woman who never let her hair down and let life be life. A true love story. Good guys do finish first!

****

4.0 out of 5 stars Nice read, February 15, 2013

By EmmaSee all my reviews

I found it very nice, well written and it kept my interest all along. I would really recommend this book.

****

4.0 out of 5 stars The CEO gets her man 23 Feb 2013

By Janet Turner

The ending of the book is pretty obvious from the title, but this love story is one to tweak at your heart. You route for the two main characters and I was nearly crying at the end. All in all a good easy read

****

4.0 out of 5 stars The CEO Gets Her Man by Anne Ashby 19 Feb 2013

By Jo

I downloaded this book for free, and thoroughly enjoyed it.
Debbie likes being in control and finds it easy controlling her world, then Jase turns it upside down…. I would recommend this feel good read.

****

4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable read 13 April 2013

By Cheeky Monkey

I enjoyed reading this, a bit like the TV show with millionaires under cover to understand how business is doing with a bit of romance

****

4.0 out of 5 stars Easy and enjoyable read, 31 Mar 2013

By LBeckster (Dorset, UK)

Well written storyline, that made me want to read more right from the word go. It does exactly as it says on the tin, she does get her man, but the journey to get there is well defined and even though there is sexual tension aplenty, it does not over dramatise it. Nice to see the woman in a position of authority for a change! Enjoyable book even it is a relatively short read.

****

4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant way to spend some leisure reading time, 20 Mar 2013

By A. Jardine “Nancy Jardine” (Scotland)
(REAL NAME)   

This was an enjoyable book, well written, well edited and easy to read in a short time. Jase McEwan is a lovely man who does very well to take on what seems like a hard nut of a woman – but who isn’t really. Debra is a tortured character who needs some friends, and naturally more than just a friend in Jase. The book has a nice fluid writing style that keeps you reading on.

****

5.0 out of 5 stars easy reading, 19 Mar 2013

By Jeanie

This book was enjoyed and was easy to pick up and put down and together with a good storyline
was a very good choice, especially as it was a free book.

 ****

4.0 out of 5 stars A fair read, 7 Mar 2013

By Railbuff1923

A pleasant and readable enough book but won’t win any literary prizes. The plot is fairly predictable as is the outcome.

****

5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 28 Feb 2013

By claire

Lovely story it’s a case of Will they won’t they.an afternoon read didn’t take me Long to finish will be reading more from this author really enjoyed it.

****

5.0 out of 5 stars The ceo gets her man, 28 Feb 2013

By Lesley Hewlett

Really enjoyed reading this book ideal holiday read or the commute to work. Will look out for other books written by author

****

4.0 out of 5 stars Nice read, 24 Feb 2013

By sid042 (England)

Firstly I really enjoyed Ms Ashby’s writing. Her descriptions are unique yet completely in tune with the more poetic language of romantic fiction and not at all distracting. Her characters were easy to identify with and I particularly enjoyed Jase, who manages to be confident and sexy without being arrogant. His issues are very real too – still dealing with no longer being a famous rugby player. It would have been nice to see his issues paid a little more attention too. Once Debra talks to him about it, he seems to come to a very quick understanding of his feelings when at the very beginning he was really very depressed.

That said, the emphasis here is obviously on Debra – the powerful business woman with (apparently) a heart of stone and no life outside of work. It’s clear quite early on that Debra is nursing some real issues that have led her to behave like this and I think this is something woman can understand, whether they are in this position or not. Some of the behaviours surrounding her felt slightly dated – I’m not sure every young modern woman could identify – but sadly male chauvinism is still rife in some areas and I’m sure some women can understand Debra’s need to prove herself.

Ms Ashby succeeded in keeping her likable, which can be difficult with ‘cold fish’ type characters and I enjoyed the interaction between her and Jase and the obvious chemistry when they meet at the hotel that Debra owns and Jase runs. With no idea that she is his boss, he fights the attraction to what he believes is an employee – and not a very good one at that.

While I enjoyed the moments between them, I did find Debra a bit confusing at times. Yes, it was clear she was battling with herself, having forgotten how to behave as anything other than the CEO, but she seemed to go from one emotion to the next very quickly. But most out of character for me was when the truth was revealed and she went back to her ‘normal’ life but then made a decision that brought Jase back into her life. This did feel contrived and I would have liked for their relationship to have gone through the same moments but within the timescale of the hotel visit, rather than tacking it onto the end, and then resolving it shortly after the truth was revealed.

That said, I stayed up late to finish this as I really wanted to see their happy ending and it is worth a read, particularly if you like to see a strong woman who doesn’t need to get into a verbal battle every two minutes!

****

4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant reading, 24 Feb 2013

By mrs. j. brown

This book was a easy story to read and I was not disappointed nice to sit and relax. Great freebie

****

4.0 out of 5 stars The CEO gets her man, 18 Feb 2013

By samanthagirl

I enjoyed reading this book. For once there were no problems with spelling and bad grammar. The lead female was very confused and thought she could not ever find love but true to form along comes the hero and melts her frosted heart. I felt for the heroine who was a super boss but when it came to romance found it so difficult to let her emotions surface. The book is certainly worth reading.

****

 

 
r: Anne Ashby
Publisher: The Wild Rose Press, Inc.
Genre: Contemporary
Publication date: December 27, 2012 
ISBN: 978-1-612177-57-1
Pages: 283
Series: none
Reviewer: Sheila
Heat Level:
   
Rating:  

 

   

Something is afoot at the Riversleigh and CEO Debra Laurie goes undercover as a waitress to discover what is wrong and who is responsible. She has her eye on the operations manager, Jason (Jase) McEwen, who was her teenage crush, and a rugby player. No matter how much she tries to find fault with him, he keeps coming up clean in The CEO Gets Her Man by Anne Ashby. Will Debra find out what is wrong? Will she find who is responsible? Will her crush ever reveal itself to Jase?

 

The CEO Gets Her Man is a sweet read with a HEA but it is a bumpy ride to get to this HEA. Debra is a klutz as a waitress and is quite funny as she breaks dishes, spills drinks, and is a walking disaster. Finally one of the other waitresses shows her what to do. Meg, the waitress, also opens up another world to Debra—a world of friends, a world of camaraderie, sharing, caring, joking—a world so unlike Debra’s usual existence. Debra also sees behind the façade that Jase shows the world. She sees that he has trouble accepting his career-ending injury. She points out the advantages he had that so few have. She learns about his family who takes in foster children and realizes the emptiness of her own life. Yes, she has money and gives to charity but when has she given of herself? She must face who and what she is when she overhears women gossiping in the bathroom about her and her relationship with her brother Paul who is now marrying. Since eavesdroppers never hear any good about themselves, Debra hears nothing good about herself. That is when she knows she must change her life so her brother’s marriage will succeed.

 

Debra comes up with a plan to show she has a man in her life so her brother can marry with no regret. It includes Jase but will it be successful? When she needs the favor, she has offended him with her suspicions that he is involved with the garbage occurring at Riversleigh and now she makes the favor a business proposition. Jase, however, has his own ideas of how this business proposition will work out. There is an absolutely delightful scene as Debra and Chloe, Paul’s fiancée, discussing the wedding and the men bug out. It is then that Jase reveals his plans. Debra and Jase are a great couple. I was never sure whether they would work together or fight but it was fun to watch them.

What I especially liked in The CEO Gets Her Man was that there was no outside interference in the relationship. The problems came from inside the relationship. Debra had to face her insecurities that she was worthy of love and could love and satisfy a man. Jase had to face the fact that his rugby past was over. They had to also face the fact that they were both misreading the words and actions of the other on the way to their HEA. I hated to close the cover on Jase and Debra. They were fun to be with for a couple of days.